PDA

View Full Version : Puzzling problem about salinity?!

whiterabbit.50
02/22/2009, 02:05 PM
Hello,

I was just making some water for a water change and im having a major problem getting it to the right salinity.

Im using a ro/di filter to fill 5 gallon buckets, into which I mix my red sea salt mix. I just got this ro/di filter made by purely h2o and this is the second time making water.

What im confused about is that after mixing the salt and letting dissolve overnight I went to test it and instead of being at 1.023 like the instructions say, it is at 1.010.

I use a recently bought refractometer to test the salinity. I double checked its accuracy by testing the water in my tank, which it shows correctly to be 1.025, and I tested it with its calibration fluid and it correctly shows 1.000, as well as testing it against unmixed ro/di water which it also shows to be 1.000.

I have been using this salt mix for a few months now and up to now ive had no problems. I also triple checked that I added the the right amount of salt because I threw out the first batch that the refractometer showed to be 1.010 and remade some last night, making sure that i added the right amount of salt according to the instructions and it still shows 1.010!

Anyone have any ideas as to what could be going wrong?!

thanks!

Rich D
02/22/2009, 02:11 PM
maybe the salt isnt totally dissolved in the water and has settled on the bottom of the bucket

tkeracer619
02/22/2009, 02:13 PM
What does your swing arm say?

whiterabbit.50
02/22/2009, 02:17 PM
I checked that theres no salt at the bottom of the bucket, and I dont have hydrometer to compare it too.

I also made sure the let the water sit on the refratometer for a couple of minutes to equalize the temperatures.

tkeracer619
02/22/2009, 02:27 PM
You don't need to balance any temps.

2.5 cups of your salt mix = 1.010?

What did you use before you got the refractometer to test salinity?