PDA

View Full Version : Protein skimmer (bubble level) help

reefin-rofin jr
03/03/2009, 08:28 AM
Hello,

I just purchased my first protein skimmer; a reef octopus (NW-150) Needle Wheel pump. It is sitting in my sump. For the past 3 DAYS I have been adjusting the bubble (foam) level inside the skimmer and have just mild evaporation water in the collection cup. at one point I have some brown residue (which is what u want, but forming in the chamber below the collection cup. I can not get the foam to move inside the neck part of the collection cup.
I have adjusted the bubbles as high as the water spill hose just below the collection cup.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thank you

Rjukan
03/03/2009, 08:35 AM
Hi, I'm no pro when it comes to skimmers, but how old is your setup? If it's new and your not cycling with uncured live rock there is a good chance it won't be producing any skimate now regardless of the setting. Someone else who has better experience will chime in.

reefin-rofin jr
03/03/2009, 08:57 AM
My 70 gallon tank is only 2 weeks old, and has about 20 pounds of live rock, and 3 damsels.
(I think u might be right about the setup as new as it is not able to produce any brown sediment?)

I also just had a massive outbreak of brown algae (diatoms) covering the rocks and gravel. I hope that this is a normal thing in the cycling period. I am just using tap water (till my RO/DI) arrives. I also heard that that it goes away on its own with less lighting or also adjusting the Ca buffer?

eb8919
03/03/2009, 09:01 AM
Diatoms are very normal in the beginning. Two weeks might be to soon to add the damsels, but either way damsels are quite hardy...hopefully for their sake your ammonia doesn't spike to high. Do you have a test kit to see where in the cycle you are?
What depth of water is the skimmer sitting in? What is the suggested depth for your skimmer?

svynx
03/03/2009, 09:08 AM