Species: Elacatinus oceanops
Social Structure: wild caught mated pair
Size of Individuals: Both are a little over 1"
Age of Individuals: unknown
Date added to Tank: Added to current tank 2/16

Broodstock Tank Details
Size of Tank: 30 gallon breeder
Substrate Details: barebottom, flower pots
Filtration Details: part of reef system - big skimmer, live rock, carbon and GFO in reactors
Water Changes: 20% weekly
Water Temperature: 80-81
Lighting/Cycle: screw-in "refugium blub" (power compact) 12 hrs, 2x 36" T5HO tubes 8hrs in middle of prior photoperiod
Other Tank Inhabitants: 2 banggai cardinals

Broodstock Feeding Details
Food Types: frozen: cyclopeeze, daphnia, brine. Flakes: formula 1, spectrum
Feeding Schedule: 2-3 times daily

Date of First Spawn: First observed eggs 3/16

No larval tank yet.

Hey everyone!

I just discovered my neon pair has eggs last night. This is my first attempt at raising fish, this is the first time I have had any fish spawn in my care (although my cleaner shrimp release larvae every week).

I've had the pair since the summer, purchased them as a mated pair from Sea Life Inc. They were housed in a 10g tank with sand and grey capped PVC sections for the majority of this time, but did not spawn. Less than a month ago they were moved into a new tank - a 30g breeder plumbed into my reef. The tank is bare-bottom with only a few flower pots and a ball of chaetomorpha. Tankmates are a pair of banggai cardinals who don't like their new home too much (nowhere good to hide). The goby pair immediately took residence in an upside-down orchid pot, they absolutlely love darting in and out of all the holes. I just got back from a week out of town and the tank was looking nasty with algae, so I picked up all the pots to scrub them and to my surprise found a small clutch of clear/white/silver eggs inside the orchid pot! I promptly placed it back.

Here are some boring pictures of where they live: