PDA

View Full Version : Does this look like a successful mesh mod?

Kissfan79
03/18/2009, 07:15 AM
Hello....
I just finished my mesh mod and want to post a pic or two to see if it looks correct as I have never done a mesh mod before. This is an impellar from a sedra 5000 with the pin wheel. It has 4 layers of enkamat and is even in height with the 4 pins that are still on the impellar (I kept them on for a guide as to how high I could go with the enkamat). It is held in place by 2 zip ties through the four hole on the base wheel. Am I ready to go with this?

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m52/kissfan79/100_7553.jpg
http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m52/kissfan79/100_7554.jpg

Thanks, Jim

mojo~
03/18/2009, 07:28 AM
it does look a little thick. And the zip ties you should probably flip one around so the heads are opposite on another to give the impeller more balance.

carman9941
03/18/2009, 07:30 AM
I agree with mojo, by flipping them around it helps to balance the impeller, I think 3 layers would work better

mrx66699
03/18/2009, 07:31 AM
zip ties will give it a little more weight unlike the fishing line which is almost weightless to the pump

Kissfan79
03/18/2009, 08:47 AM
Thanks for the replies. First off....this impellar looks different that the one that came out. I bought this fom E-Bay and the listing header said impellar for a sedra 5000 Euroreef pump. Can anyone confirm this is indeed come from a Euroreef Sedra 5000? The impellar that came out of this one (from the Sedra on an ASM G3) had shorter pins and the head was white versus gray.