PDA

View Full Version : do you need a ULNS to have an amazing colours on sps?

fish lad
03/29/2009, 08:44 AM
hi all

i am a bit of a noob to this

i am just planning my first SPS tank and i love the colour so much on them

i am going to use T5 bulbs i think and the tank size will be around 30gal + sump (50/60gal)

but do i need to go the ULNS to get good colouration on my corals?

thanks all

ste

mpoletti
03/29/2009, 09:09 AM
The answer is no. You do not need a ULNS system to achieve amazing colors. Good luck :)

bogg
03/29/2009, 09:20 AM
well it's all a matter of personal choice. The vast majority of Reef central posters will tell you NO. Well let's think about trying to replicate the corals most close to natural living/thriving situation. You as a reefer need to find how you can achieve these colors that are best suited for your eyes. Do you like what these other ulns tanks look like?. The easiest thing to do would be to pick a tank/ filtration method lighting/ flow etc that you think you can handle and try to replicate it.

kev apsley
03/29/2009, 12:18 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=14715775#post14715775 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by mpoletti
The answer is no. You do not need a ULNS system to achieve amazing colors. Good luck :)

+1 I agree with Mark

fish lad
03/29/2009, 01:17 PM
thanks guys :)

i think i will give it a miss for the beginning - learn to keep SPS the proper way then move to it if i need to/want to in the future when i have a bit of experience under my belt

cheers

mpoletti
03/29/2009, 01:50 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=14717253#post14717253 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by fish lad
thanks guys :)

i think i will give it a miss for the beginning - learn to keep SPS the proper way then move to it if i need to/want to in the future when i have a bit of experience under my belt

cheers