PDA

View Full Version : Calbrating the temp probe?


oldsaltman
04/03/2009, 04:48 PM
I have a number of thermometers, but I don't really trust any of them. Is there any reason why I can't calibrate my temp probe on my ACjr by putting the probe under my arm and reading my body temp?

kenargo
04/03/2009, 05:52 PM
Yes, you can calibrate the temp probe but if you want the most accurate calibration you will need a NIST temperature standard (these are not cheap). The one I have was a bit over $50 but they don't sell this one any longer (that I have been able to find).

moonyguy
04/03/2009, 10:48 PM
I just calibrated my probe today. I went to the regional weather center and they had a NIST calibrated therometer that they let me borrow for the weekend! Mine was within a degree of what the NIST thermometer was showing. You can try your local university physics or chemistry department and see if they will let you calibrate with their instrument.

Poor grad student here!