PDA

View Full Version : Plate Montapora

TUSI
04/08/2009, 06:39 PM
CAN ANY ONE HELP ME FIGURE OUT WHY MY MONTI IS BLEACHING. WHAT COULD BE THE PROBLEM FROM YOUR EXPERIENCES. I AM NEW TO THIS.
THANK YOU IN ADVANCE.

krzyphsygy
04/08/2009, 06:45 PM
Could be lots of things...too much flow, dkh to high, too much light, . Look at it closely is getting decent flow, can you see the polyps move some what? What is your dkh at? What kind lighting do you have and where is it in the tank? What is your calcium and Mag at?

Try listing your parameters. Go through and do a complete line of tests.

TUSI
04/08/2009, 06:55 PM
THANKS krzyphsygy FOR ANSWERING SO FAST.
CAL 400 - 440
ALK 8-10
PH 8.1-8.4
MAGNESIUM NEVER CHECKED
WATER FLOW - MEDIUM
SITUATED MIDDLE OF TANK
3-150W METAL HALIDE LIGHTS

NCNBilly
04/09/2009, 11:29 AM
Specifically, what type of flow do you have?

What is the distance from the monti to the lights? How high in the tank? How long have you had it? If new, how long did you acclimate it (and how).

FYI: Please turn off your Caps Lock - it's considered yelling on most forums.

Cheers

CleveYank
04/09/2009, 04:35 PM
TUSI,

You do need to give some answers to the questions that the others have inquired. Then it may get narrowed down.

One that noone asked. Is this a new arrival and did you check it for monty eating nudis? Google search with advanced search or pay upgrade here and check domain reefcentral will get you info on that and what they look like and their eggs.

I see you are the newby to reefcentral unless that's just a new (2nd) account. So if noone said so yet...WELCOME TO REEFCENTRAL!!!! ;)

krzyphsygy
04/09/2009, 05:29 PM
Those parameters seem ok. What test kits are you using?
I did not see an Nitrate # there. very important.
Also when you say medium flow...how many gallons per hr total?
If there any flow hitting it directlly? There should not be, they like a moderate random flow. Check Ammonia and Nitrite also. You have to be sure on your test kits.