PDA

View Full Version : So, how did you nuke your tank?

Mariner
05/07/2009, 03:34 AM
In this month's issue of RK mag, Melev makes this comment on dripping kalkwasserPersonally, I won’t use it for my tanks because I feel the risk is too great. Kalkwasser has a pH of 12, and if too much is added to your tank accidentally, all your work can be lost in mere hours.
That made me wonder how many reefers have actually lost tanks due to kalkwasser incidents as opposed to other kinds of "accidents". Personally, I've been dripping kalk in my tanks for nearly 6 years without a problem. However, I did entirely nuke a 10g nano when a cheap heater got stuck and basically cooked everything in the tank.

So, how about it? Give us your "here's-how-I-nuked-my-tank" story.

Mariner

Whys
05/07/2009, 04:43 AM
Many years ago when I was much younger and more irresponsible, didn't know squat about saltwater tanks, just set one up and threw fish after fish into it. One day everything died at once and I never could figure out why, as my parameters were good (amazingly). It wasn't until I got back into the hobby last year and started coming here that the cause became apparent. I had a sea apple. It was beautiful, but stressed by an overstocked tank. Now I know it nuked it.

jener8tionx
05/07/2009, 06:01 AM
I had a float switch stick and dumped 5 gal of newly mixed kalk into my 20L in April.

http://debriyn.com/images/kalk_crash_1.jpg

Everything lived except the plate coral. Here it was a day later:

http://debriyn.com/images/kalk_crash_2.jpg

Mariner
05/07/2009, 06:08 AM
You can read here (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1080179) about how Steve Weast nuked what was possibly the nicest tank in the universe.
WARNING: It'll make you cry! ;)
Mariner

Mariner
05/07/2009, 06:14 AM
Everything lived except the plate coral

Sorry, losing one coral doesn't count as a nuke :p You have to have wiped out your whole system! :D
Mariner

billdogg
05/07/2009, 06:37 AM