PDA

View Full Version : My nitrates won't come down?

padgett152
05/14/2009, 11:17 AM
I have an established(3 years) 75 g FOWLR tank. I have 2 fish in it. My water parameters are excellent with the exception of nitrates. I added a refugium over 2 months ago hoping this would help control the phosphates and the nitrates. Phophates are 0. Nitrates are over 160 ppm. I have done large 40% water changes the past 2 weeks and nothing seems to be working. My top off water has excellent parameters, 0 ppm nitrates. My DT has 125 lbs of live rock with a 5" DSB, my fuge has a 5" DSB as well. My skimmer working well, removing a cup of skimmate every 2-3 days. Any suggestions?

jenglish
05/14/2009, 12:19 PM
Look into a denitrator or vodka dosing. I am not an expert on either but their is a wealth of info around the site from folks that are.

Ehaze
05/14/2009, 12:52 PM
+1 sulphur denitrator

Michael
05/14/2009, 01:02 PM
are you 100% sure they are 160? if so i understand your frustration, i can only say reduce feeding, dont allow uneaten food to lay about in the tank and even though water changes wont be an immediate cure, lots of little frequent changes and ensuring the water is totally pure will definately reduce those trates. i wouldnt consider vodka at the moment, your fish only and they wont mind too much and once you start its a full time hands on duty to illiminate nitrates with vodka. imo its best to get back to basics and clean pure water and no detritus is the best method.

Superstretch18
05/14/2009, 01:12 PM
Have you tried a different test kit? It may just be that your reagent has expired. Take a sample of water to a LFS and see if they can confirm your readings.