PDA

View Full Version : Need some electrical help

Nanz
05/26/2009, 12:23 PM
Last Friday when I was out of town for only 6 hours my GFCI switched off and I traced the problem back to my return pump. I switched the return pump with another pump and tried to clean the one that kept triggering the GFCI.

My question is can I still use this faulty pump? What are the consequeces to using this pump on a NON-GFCI outlet just for short periods of time (5 mins). The pump still works and I would like to use it for pumping water from my salt mixing container to the tank during water changes.

Why is the GFCI tripping? Can it cause a problem in my house wiring? Sorry for all the questions but Im no electrical expert.

SeanT
05/26/2009, 12:32 PM
Did the GFCI trip just that once or did it keep happening?

Nanz
05/26/2009, 12:36 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=15078999#post15078999 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by SeanT
Did the GFCI trip just that once or did it keep happening?

It kept tripping everytime the pump was plugged in. I tested it by placing the pump in a bucket and plugged it alone into the socket and it tripped it with 15 secends several times. If I run it on a NON-GFCI it seems to work.

Sisterlimonpot
05/26/2009, 12:41 PM
Using it to transfer salt water mixture container to the tank will be fine. I'm curious if you figured out what exactly it was that made it trip?
You shouldn't have a concern with the house wiring when the GFCI trips (unless you have a faulty GFCI)
I had one that tripped all the time and I replaced it with a new (higher end) one and it doesn't trip anymore.

Sisterlimonpot
05/26/2009, 12:44 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=15079011#post15079011 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Nanz