PDA

View Full Version : Marine Biologists

dismayed
05/29/2009, 12:01 AM
I have really become fascinated with this hobby of marine fish and reefs. So much of what I know and the books I have read are really put together by other hobbyists. Because my background is in science, the more I play around in this hobby the more I find myself really wishing I had some formal scientific training in marine biology.

If I wanted to take some online courses from a university, or read some hard scientific texts... does anyone have any suggestions on where or what I should be looking at?

To clarify, I have a great career that I have no intentions of moving away from. But I would like to take some courses, or maybe even someday get a degree in a marine field just for my own personal edification.

I did some browsing through the University of California system but surprisingly didn't find a lot of detail. I'm very far in-land which is why I was thinking online courses from another state's university might be best.

Suggestions? Thanks.

snorvich
05/29/2009, 04:31 AM
Interesting topic. Anyone?

norskfisk
05/29/2009, 05:57 AM
For a soft start you could try Ron Shimek's articles in reefkeeping magazine. He is giving good introductions to most of the marine animal groups in a very scientific way. There are about 80 articles and once you're done with those you have a good foundation. Each article has dozens of references for "further reading". Mostly books that you can find in university libraries. As time goes by more and more of those texts will be available online too.

Just go to "past issues", "Index by Author", Ronald L. Shimek Ph.D and you've got a whole little treasure chest.

camaroracer214
05/29/2009, 06:12 AM