PDA

View Full Version : How To Keep Blues Blue

ccradr
06/09/2009, 05:58 PM
I have had decent luck with SPS corals..but it is hard for me to keep blues blue. I was wondering if the pros have any suggestions. I have a 7foot long 265 gallon reef. I use 3 400 watt 12k Reeflux bulbs run on CV ballast. Hanna meter says im around .03 constantly, Alk 9, Mag 1250, Cal 420. Also use a few 50/50 t5 bulbs to help. Nitrate is 0. I have started to use Zeovit Pohls xtra to see if that works...oh and I also use D&D Salt.

Thoughts????

ccradr
06/09/2009, 05:59 PM
P.S. I also use Prodibio bacteria and reef booster. I dose 10 ml vodka per day

SunnyX
06/09/2009, 06:08 PM
My secret to incredible blues is Lugol's solution. The potassium in it keeps my corals ultra blue.

I have been using it for 8 years now and have had great results. :thumbsup:

wrightnow
06/09/2009, 07:50 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=15165465#post15165465 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by SunnyX
My secret to incredible blues is Lugol's solution. The potassium in it keeps my corals ultra blue.

How much are you dosing and how often?

Docmaffei
06/09/2009, 08:34 PM
Is any form of iodine supplementation OK for maintaining blue coloration? I currently use ESV's products, including their iodine solution, which I've been using intermittently at best. My blue coloration could be better. Should I switch to Logul's or simply just start using the ESV iodine more religiously?

fishieness
06/09/2009, 10:06 PM
It depends what the iodine solution is made out of. Lugol's is iodine and potassium iodide. KI is a cheap way to distribute both elements, so it is likely that other solutions will use it also, but you will have to check. Most medical/diet stores also sell K powders.

gsxunv04
06/09/2009, 10:10 PM
how much lugols? as directed?

Dejavu
06/10/2009, 12:09 AM