PDA

View Full Version : best way to dose kalk

mario4254
06/20/2009, 09:25 PM
im might be force to dose kalk do to low ph i have never done it before and would like some opinions on whats working for you ( pics if possible) thank you in advance mario

moo0o
06/20/2009, 09:28 PM
I used to a use a Geo kalk reactor with an auto top off. Don't think you'd need pics for that as its self explanatory.

sjm817
06/20/2009, 10:54 PM
Best method is to mix it in your auto topoff. Do you have an ATO now, and how is it set up?

hyperfocal
06/20/2009, 11:52 PM
There is no best method. Which method is right for you depends on what's most important to you.

Kur
06/21/2009, 01:50 PM
A cheap way is to just use a gallon milk/water jug with a siphon tube dripping into your sump at the same rate as your evaporation loss. You can use regular air tubing with an adjustable valve on it to control flow.

But if you don't like the ghetto rigging aspect of reef keeping, you can do it any number of more costly ways.

mario4254
06/21/2009, 07:41 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=15232921#post15232921 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Kur
A cheap way is to just use a gallon milk/water jug with a siphon tube dripping into your sump at the same rate as your evaporation loss. You can use regular air tubing with an adjustable valve on it to control flow.

But if you don't like the ghetto rigging aspect of reef keeping, you can do it any number of more costly ways.

not at all im thinking of just geting a plastic container and have hooked up to a flow valve that would be in my sump and it would be gravity fed .........would that work?

want2reef
06/21/2009, 09:38 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=15230573#post15230573 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by sjm817
Best method is to mix it in your auto topoff. Do you have an ATO now, and how is it set up?

This has worked for me, for about 7 years. :)

THE ROOK
06/21/2009, 09:41 PM