PDA

View Full Version : Closed Zoa's and upside down snails HELP!

wingdestiny
07/11/2009, 03:33 PM
Hi, Everyone I am new to salt water and I have done a lot of research on this hobby. I've cycled a 5 gallon tank with live rock and live sand till my ammonia levels are 0, nitrite at 0 - 0.1, nitrate at 0. My salinity is at 1.023 from the reading I got from my floating hydrometer. PH is at 8.3 and KH at 14dkh. Yesterday I got a really nice looking Zoa with a pair of snails. At the LFS the Zoa frag was all opened up and very beautiful. The two turbo snails were also active. I drip acclimated both snails and the Zoa and put them in the tank yesterday night. As expected the Zoa's were not opened when I placed them in the tank, however the snails were active. That was until this morning, when I turned on the tank light this morning I found the two snails flipped over and hiding in their shells and the Zoa's seemed to responsed to light a couple of them were half open. About 7 hours from this morning after I got home from work the Zoa's were hiding again and the snails in the same place as before upsidedown. What is wrong with my tank?

VacavilleFC3S
07/11/2009, 03:42 PM
your salinity is low, you need to raise it to 1.026

what is your temp???

also your ALK is through the roof, definately part of the problem

wingdestiny
07/11/2009, 05:03 PM
My temp is 80c and isn't 1.023 a good salinity for reef? I was lead to think it was good after so many people keep it at that level. Maybe I am wrong, but 1.023 is a really common salinity. I am really confused here. I use Instant Ocean brand for salt mixes.

wingdestiny
07/11/2009, 05:28 PM
Ok, I just checked my RO water supply and it has a really low ALK and PH, for some reason Instant Ocean turns the ALK really high. Any recommendations on what I should do or what brand to buy for lower ALK.

lancer99
07/11/2009, 08:29 PM
Wing, a couple of thoughts....