PDA

View Full Version : anemone moved under an overhang and wont move out

Constantin
08/08/2009, 08:53 AM
i placed my BT anemone in the tank, and it was doing just fine, bubbling and hosting my clown. Hower i suspect that the flow was a bit much in the spot where i placed it, so it moved, then it moved again till it got under one of the overhangs. now it wont come out of there for the 3rd day, there is no light under the overhang, and its not forming bubble tips.
What do i do? wait for it to move itself or attempt to move it myself? clown is still in it, water params are optimal.

thanks for all the advice so far, what kind clown pair would you recommend getting, i am new to saltwater, but have a firm understanding of all the eqiupment, ect, and have everything set up to a good standart how to go about getting them paired up if i order online? i intend to just get juvies and hope both are not females already(they shouldnt be)

garygb
08/08/2009, 10:29 AM
What are your actual water parameters, what type of lighting do you have (it could be adjusting to brighter light and recoiling into the shade).

If you already have a clown being hosted, then you would want to stick with that species, different species of clown often don't mix well. If you do add another clown of the same species you have, make sure it is quite a bit smaller, that way the two will be more likely to successfully pair.

Pics might be helpful. How big is the clown compared to the anemone?

At this point, I suggest you wait and see if the anemone will begin to extend out into the light.

davocean
08/08/2009, 10:35 AM
I'm guessing bright light too.
Params?
And agree, one pair, same species.

Constantin
08/08/2009, 11:48 AM
well, good news that the anemone is starting to come out, and its ALOT bigger than it was when i got it, atleast it looks that way, most of it is still stretched under the overhang though. not bubbling though, like it used to.