PDA

View Full Version : Do you dip Clams?

Wd40
08/11/2009, 12:03 PM
Hey i have a 150 sps.. and im new to this dipping thing..
Ive been dipping all my sps but what about clams?
What do you use..
Fluke tabs? Freshwater?
thankx

Nanook
08/11/2009, 12:45 PM
[moved]

a4twenty
08/15/2009, 06:41 AM
dips for clams are for specific ailments, a good QT and inspections should be enough.

scaryperson27
08/15/2009, 11:36 PM
I heard freshwater for 30 minutes. There's more to it than just putting a clam in water however, it supposedly works to get parasites off.

Jeff
08/16/2009, 04:37 AM
I would not dip clams, they shock easily enough anyway. I cant think of a single reason to do it personally.

a4twenty
08/16/2009, 06:16 AM
i guess i better try to clarify this.....

if your clam is a carrier of the protozoa that causes Pinched Mantle ( PM ) and after trying a few other treatments, and only then a FWD is recommended. in very extreme cases with caution, and as a last resort a dip with metronidazole can also be used.

there is absolutely no other reason to dip your clam. this treatment does not work for any other clam ailments / parasites and is very, very stressful on the clam. PM has to be one of the most commonly misdiagnosed ailments and and should only be treated after a proper diagnosis.

HTH

OrionN
08/20/2009, 04:29 PM
Anything that irretated the clam will cause its mantel to "pinched". Pinched Mantel Disease is a specific disease. If this is the cause for you clam to not do well and have it mantel pinched, then FWD is recommended and is very effective.