PDA

View Full Version : Diy Drippers

Hammsreefbeer
08/11/2009, 01:51 PM
Hello,
I need to dose to get my parameter up alittle and would like to see your home made drippers.Ive always used a aqualifter but it getts clogged alot,so im looking for a simple way of dripping.
Thanx alot guys/gals

bebitte70
08/11/2009, 07:17 PM
I was wondering the same thing, I want to drip limewater but I don't have a sump so it's not easy. I was thinking of a closed container preferably tall. Then insert a long tubing and a short tubing through the cap. Hook up a small air pump to the short tubing and the long tubing will drip (maybe to fast though).
Anyways it's a thought if anyone has tried this and wanna share thoughts or ideas.

richie shepherd
08/11/2009, 07:33 PM
yea sounds good but im still learning too ive been looking for homade doser too

rguyler
08/11/2009, 08:47 PM
The simplest dosing setups use gravity feed with a simple pinch valve to regulate the flow. This is a very inexpensive setup and can actually perform pretty well. You could also use a plastic airline valve or better yet a laboratory-grade stopcock valve. The airline valves tend to clog so not the best choice. Depending on what you're dosing (such as kalk) almost any valve can eventually clog so whatever you come up with, make it easy to service.

Another thought I have is that many of the dosing solutions don't stay in solution real well. Some method of constant or semi-constant agitation would be ideal for whatever holding tank you decide to use for the mix. I like the over-pressure idea with the tall tower but you really would have to agitate that unit quite a bit as much of the dosing minerals would settle on the bottom. Maybe if you placed the tower on top of the air pump to take advantage of the pump's vibration...