PDA

View Full Version : Complete newbie please help!!

snowqueen
08/13/2009, 01:58 AM
Hi all

Please could I have some help?

Clean up crew going in tomorrow
How soon do I get some corals?

Which ones are good for a nano and a beginner? (i want lots of colour)

How and where do u put them in the tanK?

Thanks all :D

george albert
08/14/2009, 03:18 PM
ok how long has the tank been set up for? water per?lighting? just to start off

scuba guy ron
08/14/2009, 09:21 PM
take your time. test for:

calcium
kh
nitrate
phosphate
ph
ammonia

I personally would cycle a tank for 2-3 mos. start testing and wouldnt add live stock until I had good consistent readings for aprox 3 to 5 weeks. Go to the new to reefkeeping forums. there is a link for newbie questions and answers. would be very informative for you to check out and read the forums to see what corals best suit your experience level.

scuba guy ron
08/14/2009, 09:23 PM
here is a good link for you

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1031074

lancer99
08/14/2009, 10:24 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=15532386#post15532386 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by scuba guy ron
take your time. test for:

calcium
kh
nitrate
phosphate
ph
ammonia

I personally would cycle a tank for 2-3 mos. start testing and wouldnt add live stock until I had good consistent readings for aprox 3 to 5 weeks. Go to the new to reefkeeping forums. there is a link for newbie questions and answers. would be very informative for you to check out and read the forums to see what corals best suit your experience level.

Good gosh Scuba Guy Ron, you are hard!

If snowqueen is ready to add her CuC, then surely she has tested for and verified that her ammonia is zero....

Ca, Alk, Nitrate and Phosphate are meaningless in a newly-setup softy tank, and can easily be adjusted later, with no ill effects on the tank inhabitants. Don't you know that, Scuba Guy Ron?

-R

sedor
08/14/2009, 10:27 PM