PDA

View Full Version : So what got you hooked

gaucho30
08/20/2009, 09:23 AM
I am curious as to what got different people hooked on salt water aquariums? Personally I am pretty new to this but my friend had a little 6g nano that I thought was such a waste of money. He upgraded to a 28 HQI cube and one day I went to the LFS with him and well, it was all downhill from there. I had just given up baseball, which my life had revolved around for the previous 10 years and needed a hobby. Needless to say I was hooked from that day on. I started voraciously reading every FAQ and tutorial I could get my hands on. It was not but a month after that day that I had found myself a 40g breeder. 3 months after that I found an absolute steal on a 120g setup that I couldnt pass up. I sold my 40g setup after my 120 cycled which brings me to this point. Anyone else care to share their story?

ERICinFL
08/20/2009, 10:11 AM
I had wanted to get into saltwater tanks for years, but thought they were to difficult to maintain. One of my buddies had a tank and told me it wasn't as bad as most think. I went to his house and was amazed by all the stuff he had. He turned me on to Reef Central and after reading all I could find, I decided to take the leap. Now, five years later, I still love it and couldn't see my home without one. My wife is even into it (took a while though :p) and get's excited over new corals now. The fact that she loves it, along with the kids, makes it that much more enjoyable. Heck, I went to a fellow reefers house to buy some frags and she ended up picking out the majority of them. :lol: The best part, is the satisfaction I get from turning frags into colonies and supporting a tiny little fraction of ocean life in my home. The bonus, is when family, friends and fellow reefers come by and tell me how great it looks.

Katmanblue
08/20/2009, 10:51 AM