PDA

View Full Version : Have a flood? Please help the rest of us.

pmrossetti
08/28/2009, 03:26 PM
Very sorry. What was the cause? What are your conclusions? Thank you. :)

mfinn
08/28/2009, 04:39 PM
Over tightened pvc fitting from a pump. Cracked the pvc fitting in the middle of the night. Woke up to about 40 gallons of saltwater on the floor.

Conclusion,
know when to quit turning the fitting with the oversized channellocks.:)

gannetnz
08/28/2009, 05:01 PM
i woke up last week to my temp holding tank had split a seam and put 100L all over the floor. ended up having to get the carpet wet/dry cleaned 3 times to get all the sale out :(

billdogg
08/28/2009, 05:07 PM
A flood??? LMAO!!! which flood would you like to hear about???????

the bottom line on all of mine is that they can all be tied directly to HUMAN ERROR. I'm still looking for this HUMAN, and when I find him, boy is he gonna get it!!!

pmrossetti
08/28/2009, 05:11 PM
Hi all at RC, I'm a retired safety engineer so with that in mind let me comment on the first 2 so far. In eliminating safety hazards there are 3 steps. 1. Engineering controls(change what you're doing or engineer the problem out). 2. Administrative controls(use people the right way or train them properly and last 3. Personnal Protective Equipment( gloves, masks, etc.
The first incident can be TOTALLY eliminated by using a submersible pump(hazard eliminated), the 2nd not completely, but I would bet it was a glass tank. Acrylic takes more care but is vastly stronger than glass. Hope these help. Keep em comoing and I hope I can help. :)

aquaph8
08/28/2009, 05:19 PM
My worst flood came from a check valve going bad. The power went out and I guess the check valve had been going one direction for so long it got stuck and didnt close. I now test my check valve weekly to make sure it still works. I only lost about 10 or 15 gallons on the floor, but thats alot more than one would think.

pmrossetti
08/28/2009, 05:23 PM