PDA

View Full Version : Algae?

crxin
09/01/2009, 12:13 PM
I am new to the hobby and currently got my first fish, clown fish. I have had him for about 2 days and he seems to be doing very good. I am starting to notice a brown algae, someone told me it was diatom related, and said it was bad? I am currently using tap water with a chemical additive to remove the chlorine. I had a good friend test the water and everything was with acceptable parameters like tds and stuff for tap water. Once i noticed this, i checked my parameters and all were on, my ph was good, salinty was good, nitrites, and nitrates were good. any help would be good.

thanks

crx/rob

Sugar Magnolia
09/01/2009, 12:24 PM
It probably is diatoms. How old is the tank? Is it fully cycled? Also, using tap will lead to problems with nuisance algaes down the road. Switch to RO/DI or at the very least, bottled distilled water.

crxin
09/01/2009, 01:05 PM
tank is fully cycled, been up and cycling for about 2 months. I just added the first fish the other day. Now is the algae harmful? I dont want to hurt the fish. I dont have the money for the RO/DI system and live in an apartment so i have to be careful what i attache to the sink.

crxin
09/01/2009, 01:06 PM
what way can i combat this algae?

FlyinggFish
09/01/2009, 02:08 PM
Is the algae only on the sand bed? I had an unusual algae on my sand bed, and if you do I can give you some pointers (could be the same thing).
From my experience, when my tanks cycle they will go through a momentary small burst of algae, which can be cleaned up by your clean up crew (blue-legged hermits).

bubbly
09/01/2009, 03:15 PM
Is the "brown algae" like a kind golden-brown dust? Then it's probably diatoms, and that's standard for a new tank.

Are you using a skimmer?

Do you have a refugium?

It's going to be important to make sure you have a good plan for nutrient removal or you may end up with pest problems (hair algae, bubble algae, aptasia, etc) later on.