PDA

View Full Version : How catch crab

aygamisou
09/08/2009, 01:15 PM
Hello all, I am new here to these forums. I am also new to aquarium keeping. I recently got a live rock from friend, and I find crab in it last night. It only emerge in darkness, so I cannot get a picture. But after searching, I think he is red mithrax crab. I also discover he is dangerous to my tank, but I cannot catch him. I have try using soda bottle with bait, but he does not take it. Does anyone else have ideas? Thanks you!

DiazE
09/16/2009, 07:47 AM
Take a plastic water bottle, cut off the neck and invert into the other half. Make sure to tie both ends so it doesn't come apart.
Put some bait in it and try to lie it close to were it hangs out. Tie a string on the bottle so you can pull it out as soon as it's in there.

When you catch it, eventhough it might be a mithrax, post a picture of the sucker for I.D. purposes in case it's a "good crab" you can keep.

ddinox64
10/01/2009, 12:06 PM
I chased my Emerald onto the sand bed where it moved pretty slow then just used a net. I read somewhere to put sinking food in a tall glass, lean it against the rocks at an angle it won't be able to scale when it goes inside for food. I caught my Peppermint in two seconds doing that. But I wanted the Emerald.

650-IS350
10/03/2009, 04:51 PM
Get a large or tall shot glass, place it at night where your know the rogue crab hangs out at and place it to the side of the rock. Crab investigates, slides down for the food but can't get out as the glass is smooth. Takes a couple times to get the crab.

arredondojason
10/03/2009, 09:01 PM
toliet seats are a good way to catch crabs as well

arredondojason
10/03/2009, 09:04 PM