PDA

View Full Version : Auto Water Change

AGM1
09/11/2009, 01:04 AM
Hi,

Im new to the hobby but would like to install an auto water changing system to my tank. I have an integrated sump where I would hook up a small pump on a timer, and it would empty the waste water into a sink or other area. Whats the best way of adding new water to the tank? I have a 1/2 inch whole drilled on the top of the tank for a pvc return.
Thanks

PRDubois
09/11/2009, 01:10 AM
http://www.autotopoff.com/products/

Use a Double switch so you have failsafe if one fails.

IridescentLily
09/11/2009, 01:45 AM
Also, jbj top off unit is recommended alot. It's not expensive as others like elos osmolater are, but loads of reefkeepers say the jbj is the most reliable.

waynem
09/11/2009, 02:23 AM
Auto water changes just scare me.

billdogg
09/11/2009, 05:59 AM
^^^what waynem said ^^^ I have no issue with auto topoff, if the supply of topoff water is limited, but I prefer to be there for actual water changes just to make sure all is as it should be.

Guy340
09/11/2009, 06:04 AM
I think some other member here on RC did exactly what you wanted to do. His system consisted of a Litermeter III though. He would pump waste water from his display tank to his remote tank, add newly mix water to his display, and also, remove the waste water from his remote tank.

sedor
09/11/2009, 06:08 AM
Just don't forget to add some sort of fail safe so that if there isn't fresh SW in storage, the old water will not get pumped out.

Plan>B
09/11/2009, 06:21 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=15683706#post15683706 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by billdogg
^^^what waynem said ^^^ I have no issue with auto topoff, if the supply of topoff water is limited, but I prefer to be there for actual water changes just to make sure all is as it should be.

+1 though I wouldn't mind having something that I could have 2 pumps working at the same time and just be present during the change.

reefscape15
09/11/2009, 07:02 PM