PDA

View Full Version : 70W Metal Halide Ballast Needed

LouH
09/19/2009, 07:51 PM
I have a nice PFO mini pendant that will work with a 70W MH bulb. I've recently set up a 30 gallon cube tank that I'd like to grow Zoos and Ricordeas in, and a 70W metal halide system would be sweet. I can't locate a PFO 70W ballast anywhere, but Ice Cap makes one. Before buying the Ice Cap, I was wondering if anyone has built a ballast with a kit from one of the various lighting supply companies. It looks like I can build a ballast for under $50.00. Has anyone done this and had a good result?

Thanks.

Lou

Zestay
09/19/2009, 07:55 PM
http://*******.com/mmpfml

LouH
09/19/2009, 08:41 PM
Hey wise guy, no kidding. I know what is available and what isn't. I asked if anyone had any experiences with a ballast kit.

o0jmadr0x0o
09/19/2009, 09:45 PM
http://ballastwise.com/item.asp?PID=112&FID=17&level=1

here is a real link for you
40$ shipped, but i have no experience with it

LouH
09/20/2009, 05:55 AM
That looks about what the IceCap ballast looks like. I'll have to look at this alittle closer.

Thanks o0jmadr0x0o! Coincidentially, o0jmadr0x0o happens to be my son's name.

DarG
09/20/2009, 07:37 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=15729640#post15729640 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by LouH
Hey wise guy, no kidding. I know what is available and what isn't. I asked if anyone had any experiences with a ballast kit.