PDA

View Full Version : 40g Upgrade!!!

kylie d
09/28/2009, 08:47 PM
I had started planning an upgrade from a 20g Long to a 40g breeder to go into effect sometime next fall but just got awesome news from my RA that I can have a 40g breeder in my room if I want! YAY! I still don't want to rush this though so I still have a lot of research to do.

What I have running now is a 20g Long with a 60g reef ready BakPak skimmer, phosphate reactor, 100watt heater, 20lb of live rock, about 1" of live sand, 4x24watt T5HO 10K/actinic/lunar Sundial by Current USA, and 2 nano koralia powerheads. Residents include 2 clownfish, 2 shrimp (cleaner and peppermint), emerald mithrax crab, 4 astraea snails, 5 nassarius snails, pulsing xenia, kenya tree, a small sps, a small lps, and a few small purple mushrooms. (I'm still really new to this).

What I have planned so far is this: I am either special ordering (if my boss can get it done and I get my employee discount) a 40g breeder with internal overflow or getting a normal tank and having it drilled. Also getting the stand and canopy to match. In the canopy I am going to install 2x150watt MH retrofits with 15K bulbs lengthwise and some sort of T5 supplementation.

Here is question 1) What type of T5's would go best with the 15K bulbs? I was told that 15K is good for a mixture of growth and color. Is this true? What would you suggest for lighting (what type of bulb and what type of T5)??

In addition to this huge upgrade in tank and lighting, I was also going to build my own sump to run in the stand. I've had a few people make them and show me theirs so I know how I'm going to break it up, my only question now is What size of tank to use for a sump? Do I use the 20g Long they are in now? Or would a 10g or 20g high work better? Those would give me more storage space in my stand.

Other than that, is there anything else you can think of I will need?