PDA

View Full Version : Do you condition your RO/DI water before adding?

one4gatr
10/01/2009, 08:29 AM
Ok guys... by the sig you can tell I am a newbie so I appologize for the question (if its been covered before). But I was wondering if and what you condition your RO/DI water with prior to putting it in the tank. I have read a few threads where I see people putting stuff like Amquel in at the same time they do water changes... does this help at all? I was just wondering because I just got a new RO/DI filter and am about to do a 15% water change and was considering adding the Amquel as well. Thanks for the help!

Mark

Randy Holmes-Farley
10/01/2009, 08:34 AM
There's no need to add anything to RO/DI unless, you are just using it as a vehicle to add something that you know the tank itself needs. :)

one4gatr
10/01/2009, 09:33 AM
There's no need to add anything to RO/DI unless, you are just using it as a vehicle to add something that you know the tank itself needs. :)

I didnt think so but say some people saying they did Amquel so didnt know if it would be useful to add...

Thanks,

Mark

Henry Bowman
10/01/2009, 09:44 AM
I dont condition. I run an 5 stage RO/DI filter and have for years. I've never found the need to "condition". Use as clean / purified water as you can get, add only things to it you can test for, salt and other known and needed supplements (no conditioners) then enjoy.

Randy Holmes-Farley
10/01/2009, 12:39 PM
Amquel will do nothing after a functioning RO/DI. :)

If someone suggests using it, ask them what it is supposed to accomplish and we’ll be happy to discuss it further. :)

one4gatr
10/01/2009, 01:23 PM
Amquel will do nothing after a functioning RO/DI. :)

If someone suggests using it, ask them what it is supposed to accomplish and we’ll be happy to discuss it further. :)

Lol...cool... thanks guys... I pretty much figured that but hey I would have never thought about dropping Vodka or Sugar in my tank either!!!

Billybeau1