PDA

View Full Version : introduction from AK-long and rambling

ABanks
10/01/2009, 05:16 PM
Hello everyone,

I am completely new to aquarium fishkeeping but have been intrigued for many years. Still, I may be taking the plunge (yeah, pun intended). Out of all the wonderful species out there I have one particular group in mind...the antennaria and volitans lionfish. They are what I read about, what I collect photos of, what I search for and "visit" at fish stores, and what I think about ecologically. Their mimicry, disruptive coloration and evolutionary splendor I find wonderful. I can't go visit them in the wild realistically or I would.

First, it's obvious that I am no where near buying a fish. There's a long long way to go and lots to learn. I've got some "should I even try this" type questions for the more patient members of the forum if you would be kind enough to listen.

Now that lions have made themselves invasive species I have fewer qualms about purchasing one of that species... unsustainable wild collection is a big concern for me. Does anyone collect from the SE US coast and put them into the hobby? One reef's headache is my jewel.

If my one tank is devoted to one lion (space for one lion isn't small and I will not crowd one) and everything else is there to give it a decent life, what if any other live organisms would that include? Would a single fish be completely bored and dull? Would this type of fish be suited for a simple setup or does complexity suit them better? On various aquarium pages and in articles I always see "minimum" tank sizes. Tell me what is humane and proper, not minimum.

Yes, I know they are venomous, yes I know they are predatory, etc.