PDA

View Full Version : vodka dosing good/bad

arredondojason
10/04/2009, 04:37 PM
ok so i have been studying vodka dosing for about 8 months now my main ? is there any negetives to vodka dosing aside if you dose to much.

harper
10/04/2009, 04:47 PM
The last time vodka dosing was in vogue (the original mini-reef 25 years ago) many experts had all types of unexplained bad things that could happen. It was very successful for those with the patients back then. It went out of style though and here we are doing it all over again. Never heard a real reason not to do it. Just take it slow. The best part for me is having a reason to always have some vodka on hand. I can tell you heavy vodka self dosing can be bad for relationships. :)

redtop03
10/04/2009, 06:04 PM
it does work at lowering nitrates,but strong aeration is needed as it does lower the oxygen and in turn lowers the PH in the water,a good skimmer it also recommended....the water will become amazingly clear,which in turn allows better light penetration :D

just go slow,I would recommend to start with about half what most people are using and gradually step up the dosage over a few weeks time

JGHA
10/04/2009, 06:40 PM
Good in my opinion. Read this link its really useful in understanding how vodka dosing works all the chemistry involved and it also guides you on how much to dose.

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2008-08/nftt/index.php

arredondojason
10/04/2009, 06:49 PM
i am going to start out at 0.1 ML per 25 gal. of water total system then jump it to 0.2 per gal. days 4-7 then add 0.5 ML every week till i see results and then use that as my daily dosage.
I am running an AquaC EV 240 on my system with a mag 18 pump overdriving it so I think that this will keep my O2 up and i will be running carbon in a reactor as well.
One other ? is it any different when acclimating corals and fish or just do the drip method.

arredondojason
10/05/2009, 02:30 PM
bump for an awnser!!!!
hopefully.

Billybeau1
10/05/2009, 03:13 PM