PDA

View Full Version : Who doses Iodine/Iodide?

DC_40gallon
10/06/2009, 06:16 PM
As a newbie, I read that people either put a drop or two of iodine in their tank daily or ever other day or they freak out and say "DON'T DO IT!"

Can you professionals help me out?

Who puts iodine in their tanks and why do they do it?

I even see where LFS' sell it.

Billybeau1
10/06/2009, 06:30 PM
Give this a read. Come back with more questions if needed. ;)

Iodine in Reef Aquaria
http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/mar2003/chem.htm

DC_40gallon
10/06/2009, 06:32 PM
I actually just got through reading that.

I'm still confused on who would and who wouldn't.

Is it one of those gimmicky things where for people like me (40 gallon breeder) who is doing a 5 gallon water change weekly, it's a waste to even look at all the supplements on the shelves?

I have to admit, each time I go to any LFS or big box store like Petco/PetsMart, I see these supplements by various places such as Kent Marine and I wonder who uses this stuff and why.

Billybeau1
10/06/2009, 06:43 PM
Many of these so called necessary supplements are sold to put money in someones pocket and are not needed.

Have you seen this one ?

What chemicals need to be supplemented

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2007-04/rhf/index.php

DC_40gallon
10/06/2009, 07:26 PM
Gotcha

Does anyone dose Iodine/Iodide?

If I am doing a 12.5% water change weekly, would it hurt or create any benefit to putting in a drop every day of the Kent Marine Iodide?

I have a 40 breeder, polyps, 1 leather and a Goby (soon to be an anemone and 2 clownfish).

DC_40gallon
10/06/2009, 07:28 PM
Or I should ask this -

I would like to add a little supplements to my water for my corals

What would be the "miracle gro" for corals that I can add as a booster for my coral growth?

Billybeau1
10/06/2009, 07:44 PM
I do not think it would hurt anything to put a drop or two of iodide. I just do not think it is needed. That's up to you.