PDA

View Full Version : Is my tank ready ?? please help

direct_reef
10/09/2009, 11:53 AM
Hey, I am new to the marine hobby and I have started my first tank, I have everything setup, skimmer,lights,sump etc. It has been running for over a week now and I added some frozen fish from the market to get my cycle going. I am just wondering if I am ready to add fish ?

high PH- 8.0-8.02
Amonia- 0
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate- 10

does that seem right ?
I allready have some mushrooms in there that are doing fine. Should I do my first water change now then add my first fish ?
if anyone can help me that would be great
thanks

mhosts
10/09/2009, 11:55 AM
Hey, I am new to the marine hobby and I have started my first tank, I have everything setup, skimmer,lights,sump etc. It has been running for over a week now and I added some frozen fish from the market to get my cycle going. I am just wondering if I am ready to add fish ?

high PH- 8.0-8.02
Amonia- 0
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate- 10

does that seem right ?
I allready have some mushrooms in there that are doing fine. Should I do my first water change now then add my first fish ?
thanks

Do you have any Live rock in there? What do you have as an established bio-filter? If you don't have an established bio filter, then you will need to cycle the tank. And that takes roughly about a month or two.

GTR
10/09/2009, 11:57 AM
Really depends on things like the live rock and such. I'd expect to have an elevated ammonia, then nitrite level in most cases. One week isn't long enough IMO.

SteveU

GTR
10/09/2009, 12:00 PM
Here's one of my all time favorite threads on any board.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=249112

SteveU

direct_reef
10/09/2009, 12:29 PM