PDA

View Full Version : Absolute minimum for a clownfish/anemone tank

jmsilhy
10/13/2009, 01:02 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to the hobby and I've been reading the forums a lot. I'm interested in a small system to learn on, and my question is, what would be the absolute minimum for keeping a clownfish/anemone in terms of size, lightning and filtration.

Thanks for your opinions!

jauld
10/13/2009, 01:03 PM
I keep a true perc pair and a green bubble tip nem in a 37 gal with no problems.

username in use
10/13/2009, 01:07 PM
I would say 30-40 gallons is the minimum for an anemone. You will also need some decent lighting, t5's or halides, for the nem to be really happy. A lot depends on what type of anemone you plan on keeping. If you want a carpet, your going to need a bigger tank than a bubble tip or sebae.

sharrison
10/13/2009, 01:13 PM
a good inexpensive setup for that would be a 29 gallon. I will warn you though the smaller the tank the harder it is to keep stable. That is unless you have it hooked up to a 100 gallon sump.

DC_40gallon
10/13/2009, 01:26 PM
Do a 10-15% water change weekly with RO/DI water and do your top offs and you can keep a 1 gallon tank just as easy as a 100 gallon in my opinion and from what so many pros have showed me.

DC_40gallon
10/13/2009, 01:28 PM
I'm starting up a 5 gallon in the near future just as a center piece and to put some simple basic corals in with 5 lbs of live rock and a shallow sand bed.

Toddrtrex
10/13/2009, 01:55 PM
Really depends on the type of anemone that you plan on getting. But, I wouldn't go any smaller then a 30 (( personally I think that 29's are to narrow front to back )). And with a 30 I would only consider a BTA ((Entacmaea quadricolor)) and maybe an LTA ((Macrodactyla doreensis)), all others, IMO, will outgrow a 30.

As for lighting, need to know the type of anemone before making a suggestion, the lighting (( and care in general )) requirements vary by anemone.

sharrison
10/13/2009, 03:41 PM