PDA

View Full Version : Looking for REEF SAFE Foam for aquarium

baldwinaquaman
10/14/2009, 09:39 PM
I'm looking to hide some pvc in my aquarium to make it look like rockwork, what is the best, and safest foam/selant to use. I want it to look as much like rock as possible, also any other ides would be appreciated. The pvc is only on the bottom of the tank, and not on the back wall.

troylee
10/14/2009, 09:46 PM
Pond foam it can found at home depot outside in the garden area where the pond liners are....hth;)

baldwinaquaman
10/14/2009, 09:52 PM
Are their any foams made specifically for saltwater tanks?

novahobbies
10/14/2009, 10:56 PM
I've had the standard tan-colored expandable foam in different saltwater tanks for over a year now, and I've yet to experience any ill effects. It doesn't break down under PC or T5 lighting (I have no experience personally under MHs) and it colors up with algae and coralline as quickly as the rock does. Recently I've been experimenting with "pre-painting" the base structures with krylon fusion and a few others....these are acrylic paints and are supposedly completely inert after they dry. So far, so good. The main reason I've tried the prepaint tecnique is 'cause I'm not a fan of the plain tan or black (as in the pondfoam) color.

baldwinaquaman
10/14/2009, 11:14 PM
Anyone else have any ideas, i really need the rock to be light colored as my other rocks are very light.

edub_50
10/15/2009, 06:29 PM
I hope this helps more than hinders, but I had read many threads on R/C about 'great stuff' expanding foam (the stuff at homedepot for like 5 bucks). It suddenly stopped showing up. My cousin used it with great success (Its almost white in the tank initially by the way) but I had read a few posts that said not to use it. It colors up really well and can look like rockwork in time with algae so I'm not sure why it wouldn't or shouldn't be used. Just be careful, its very, very buoyant.

MaLi
10/16/2009, 10:35 AM
Greetings,