PDA

View Full Version : Cannon 40d Macro Lens

Montezuma
10/20/2009, 08:08 AM
Guys, I know the 100mm 2.8f macro lens for cannon is probably my best bet, but I dont think I can afford it right now. Im wondering if there is a cheaper lens I can buy that will get me the same type of results. I think I lose $ on selling my corals because I cant get a close up the beautifull colors.

Sorry im still new to this.

DetectiveTofu
10/20/2009, 08:21 AM
tr-tr-tr-triple post, lol :D

You can look in to the Canon 60 mm macro; do some hunting round and I'm sure you'll find some reviews. I have a friend who does under water photography with it, and the results are excellent. Of course you've got to know what you're doing as well :)
My personal opinion would be to wait, and save up for the 100 mm ... you will only spend more getting the 60 mm macro now, and then the 100 mm later down the line.
Also, bear in mind that many people use some sort of PP in order to edit their photos to give their photos more pop.

TitusvileSurfer
10/20/2009, 12:09 PM
Same? No
Acceptable? Perhaps
The Tamron 90mm might be of use to you.
You are going to need a nice tripod as well.

lowbudget
10/21/2009, 03:59 AM
or sigma 105mm macro

90sShooter
10/21/2009, 10:21 AM
I say spring for the 100mm! I was faced with the same decision several months ago and decided to just go for it. $400 well worth it! Like DetectiveTofu said, you will only end up spending more money gettings something "acceptable" now and then getting the 100mm later. Atleast with the 100mm you can pretty much rest assured that there is nothing bettter...