PDA

View Full Version : How many of you "sight test"?

BLKTANG
10/21/2009, 06:16 PM
Well after the guy who dont wanna do WC's thread ive been feeling guilty,BUT with good reason not to.

Ive been Reefkeeping since early 2003,(not a long time in reefkeeping standards)but for over a year now i have kept up weekly WC's but havent TESTED ANYTHING.

But i can tell right away if something is wrong with my Reef.

So be honest.

Who else dosent test?

jbird69
10/21/2009, 06:28 PM
I only test the "coral triangle" ca/alk/mag. And I do it pertty spuratically. If I remember Ill check sg.

nif
10/21/2009, 06:29 PM
I do the same except I check my alk every other week just to make sure my calc reactor is doing its thing.

jayk198030
10/21/2009, 06:30 PM
test? what test? i was never good at tests.

BLKTANG
10/21/2009, 06:38 PM
test? what test? i was never good at tests.

:lol:

Misled
10/21/2009, 07:02 PM
I have been keeping up with my water changes since I started my 54, didn't use to in the past.

I tested it when I set it up. About 9 months ago.

elegance coral
10/21/2009, 07:32 PM
Back in the day I tested for everything. Now all I test for is salinity and temperature. Some things you can actually be more accurate by using the "sight test". Phosphate test kits may not tell you when you have a phosphate problem, but the sight test sure can.

mcoomer
10/22/2009, 11:51 AM
My new controller tests temp, pH, and salinity so now all I'll have to test is Ca, Alk, and Mg. I test those pretty infrequently as they seem to be pretty stable. Every once in a great while I check for NO3 and PO4.

Mike

browntrout
10/22/2009, 11:56 AM
I only test, SG once in a while and weekly check alk/cal/mag that's it. I also do weeekly WC

DT's_Reef
10/22/2009, 11:58 AM