PDA

View Full Version : DIY glass tank build

Joel A
10/21/2009, 08:56 PM
so i'm building my own rimless, starfire 100 gallon tank. The dimensions will be 48x24x20. I got quoted for glass today, and i'm wondering from anyone who might have experience or might have an idea about this sort of thing if this seems like a good price.

$475.00 for:
1x 48x24 regular float glass
1x 23x20 regular float glass
1x 48x20 regular float glass
1x 48x20 starfire glass
1x 23x20 starfire glass
all 1/2" think, with the top rim of the rimless tank polished, and the vertical sides "ground".

Seem like a good price?

Thanks.

A Reef Scene
10/21/2009, 09:05 PM
A good read on building a glass tank

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/diy/27814-building-75g-all-glass-tank.html

Joel A
10/21/2009, 09:07 PM
funny that you linked that.. i've seen that thread before many times and actually met that guy. I used to be a planted freshwater discus hobbyist like him. ;) Amazing tank though isn't it?

uncleof6
10/21/2009, 09:11 PM
so i'm building my own rimless, starfire 100 gallon tank. The dimensions will be 48x24x20. I got quoted for glass today, and i'm wondering from anyone who might have experience or might have an idea about this sort of thing if this seems like a good price.

$475.00 for:
1x 48x24 regular float glass
1x 23x20 regular float glass
1x 48x20 regular float glass
1x 48x20 starfire glass
1x 23x20 starfire glass
all 1/2" think, with the top rim of the rimless tank polished, and the vertical sides "ground".

Seem like a good price?

Thanks.

Humm, yeah it seems like a good price, considering the tank acutally calls for 13.40mm sides, and 17.18 bottom, so standard sizes are 15mm and 19mm.

Jim

Joel A
10/21/2009, 09:16 PM
Humm, yeah it seems like a good price, considering the tank acutally calls for 13.40mm sides, and 17.18 bottom, so standard sizes are 15mm and 19mm.

Jim