PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions (future buyer)

Pylon
10/24/2009, 04:00 PM
Hello!
First off I would like to say these forums have a plethora of information; however, I think I have only gained more questions to be asked from them. So, here they are, my story and series of questions.

I originally wanted a small ten gallon Nano lagoon that can be seen in the video series on youtube made by http://www.ipsf.com/

After the last month or reading, researching, and looking into what I would want (fish and coral wise) I went to my LFS to do some pricing and looking around some. (Sidenote: He was over priced on some of his hardware, fish seemed reasonably priced) I decided that I want to go for a 29 gallon nano reef tank.
Here are my questions. (please keep in mind I am a full time student and have very little to no income. This tank will come from what is left over in grant money)

1.)
I live up in the mountains and I am unsure of how well my well water is. My LFS sells salt water for .65 cents a gallon. Is that really worth it? I don't know how well his water is and if possible I would much rather buy some instant ocean and mix up the water myself. (again, I don't know how well my well water is, I could probably by a gallon of spring water for water changes instead.)

2.)
Is the stock lighting in a the Nano Cube good enough to have soft coral, and possibly an anemone?

3.)
any Info on cheap, but reliable heaters, timers? Any other stuff that doesn't come with the cube that I will need.

4.)
Any good advice on the clean up crews?
I live this package, but I am not crazy about hermits.
https://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=420+2791+1368&pcatid=1368

5.)
My LFS said with the live sand that comes in the bag w/ water it'll be okay to add fish instantly after the fish.
Is this a sale pitch to get my to buy more on the spot?

6) Final question, for now.