PDA

View Full Version : algae bloom?


JonnyR
10/30/2009, 02:10 PM
How can I get rid of an algae bloom?

GixxerSWFW
10/30/2009, 02:14 PM
Partial water changes i believe is going to be a possible solution like 10-20% every couple of days should do the trick. still learning alot myself but everyone else feel free to jump in. Just keep an eye on all your levels

jenjen
10/30/2009, 11:40 PM
[welcome]

What sort of algae? And how long has the tank been running?

jun_celis
10/31/2009, 12:01 AM
Tell us about your tank? How old, type of water you use, nitrate, PO, feeding habits, flow, do you use a sump, etc. It's kinda hard to tell you what to do if we don't have any basic information...

MrineLfRlz
10/31/2009, 12:19 AM
like everyone else said depends on water condition and water flow
do you have a RODI reverse osmosis deionized water system?
also are you running any power heads?

Flipper62
10/31/2009, 12:41 AM
How can I get rid of an algae bloom?

How old is the tank ?

Are you going through your cycle ?

Your question is very vague.

When ever you have a algae problem...High nitrates.....Ect. Something is feeding it.... Water changes are the best way to help keep it under control.

HOWEVER, you need to figure out what is causing it. And stop it.

returnofsid
10/31/2009, 12:52 AM
Find the source, eliminate the source, then don't introduce any sources.