PDA

View Full Version : books????????????

juniorjose
11/02/2009, 08:46 PM
im new to the hobby so i was thinking that id better do some reading b4 i start my 30 gal tank and end up killing everything...
,,,,,does anyone know any good books that i can buy?....
,,,also were i can get it for cheap?....
,,i am looking to add corals to the tank:bounce2:

....how long will i have to wait for the water to cycle so i can starte adding soft corals and/or LPS????? is it a good idea to start with these?

Playa-1
11/02/2009, 09:34 PM
That's a great question and I'm glad you asked :)
Check out this link for some excellent reading material.
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2008-01/tips/index.php

jhritz
11/02/2009, 09:39 PM
The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert M. Fenner is a GREAT book to anyone new or old in this hobby. would highly reccomend.

you can find it at most book stores (if not instock it can usually be ordered), Ebay and Amazon.com also have it available.

DC_40gallon
11/02/2009, 09:54 PM
My two cents, if you have the tank then go ahead, put in your live sand, live rock and fill that sucker up with RO/DI water and turn on your skimmer and let that thing cycle while you are reading your books. You will want it to have a 4-6 week cycle period anyways so the longer wait the better in my opinion. Do 10% water changes weekly with RO/DI to keep things fresh and get you in the habit.

This will also give you something to watch as a reminder to your patience and treat while you read.

the lights, skimmer, live sand, live rock and powerheads - you will need these regardless so setting this up now won't kill anything! Plus if something does go wrong ( and with RO/DI water to fill the tank, do all water changes with, cured live rock with no algae on it, and new live sand -- you won't have any problems) then you can change whatever is necessary without worry to killing anything.