PDA

View Full Version : RO/DI waste line assistance needed

eliashickman
11/08/2009, 08:19 AM
I just bought a new system. Here in Korea we don't have the fancy kind of systems that are available in the good ol' US of A. :(

Anyway, my system is connected and up and running. But it's running very slow. Also for the waste line from my membrane I don't have a flow restrictor, instead I'm using a shut-off valve. In my old system, I didn't even have a waste line. :twitch:
Since my RO/DI system is connected directly to the water line, the waste line is always going to be running. Does this sound typical? I have restricted the amount of water coming out however I'm not sure how much I need to restrict.

The other thing is that I don't understand why the water is moving so slowly.

lordofthereef
11/08/2009, 09:13 AM
The waste line should not always be running. I am no expert with RODI but I do know that my waste line only runs when I am "making" RODI water. My unit was plug and play though so it didn't take much effort at all to set up. Hopefully someone will chime in, but in the mean time I would shut your water off. You are going to be wasting a TON if your waste is constantly running.

Playa-1
11/08/2009, 09:27 AM
The output is determined by how efficient the filter is. Some of the fancy systems here in the good ol" US of A can produce 1 gallon of RO/DI water for every two gallons of waste water. But most systems are not that efficient. A more common range is between 4:1 and 10:1. So it's normal for the waste water to have a higher flow rate then the product line.