PDA

View Full Version : MP40W wet side failing

WallyBackm
11/13/2009, 04:16 PM
I have 2 MP40w pumps. ONe works fine. The wet side of the other, however, doesn't rotate when turned on and simply falls down. I've isolated it as the wet side because I use the dry side to test and it works for the other pump.

I took off the casing for the faulty wet side one and there is a black gunky build up around the magnet. I am no engineer but I suppose this is not good. I spent $420 a pop for both of these which have been running less than 6 months so I feel a bit shafted.

WallyBackm
11/14/2009, 06:14 PM
Is this a common experience with MP40w's? Are there arny Ecotech people on here?

firereef
11/14/2009, 09:07 PM
Hey, mine fell off today too. Mines been runnin a month!

EcoTech Marine
11/16/2009, 08:05 AM
wallybackm-

Give us a call and we'll get you sorted out.

firereef-

Considering your pump is so new, the most likely cause of a wet side falling is a snail getting in there. I'd just reinstall it and see if it happens again in a regular fashion. Then I'd get in touch with us.

wesley6610
11/16/2009, 05:37 PM
I've been have the same issue as well. I purchased my pump last month and it fell off once 2 weeks ago and just now. I took it apart and cleaned it (it wasn't dirty though), and inspected all of the internal parts of the drive shaft. Made sure the nut wasn't too tight as to why it wasn't turning freely. I wasn't sure what the condition of the nylon washer is supposed to look like after just 1 month, but it looks pretty mashed up. The ceramic bearing looks okay and drive shaft too....what gives? Nothing got caught up in it at all and I was sitting right next to the tank when the wetside flipped up and then dropped off.

EcoTech Marine
11/17/2009, 09:29 AM