PDA

View Full Version : Coral Banded Shrimp

Arkayology
11/14/2009, 07:51 PM
So, my first addition to my 20H was a Coral Banded Shrimp that I added yesterday. He has been hiding out under a rock for since then, venturing out seldom. I dropped some small fish food pellets near his cave and they sat there for hours. He should eat these pellets right? I am very new to SW inverts and fish and don't know feeding habits. I just want to make sure I know if he is getting food or not. I haven't seen him go after and of my bristle worms or brittle star hitchhikers.

Does anyone have any advice for feeding him or is he fine and I don't need to worry. There are only 2 snails in the tank with him atm, no fish.

CUZ
11/14/2009, 08:16 PM
did you acclimate him??
with time it'll be scampering everywhere!!

Arkayology
11/14/2009, 09:36 PM
Ya, I acclimated him well. I think he may just be getting used to the tank? I am just not sure how/when he will want to eat. Can I assume he is eating stuff off my rocks?

flemingm
11/24/2009, 11:41 PM
I was wondering the outcome of your shrimp as I am new with a small tank but completely cycled and purchased the same type shrimp with the same non-eating and hiding behind a rock. Ive even dropped misus into his large claw ......nothing, he was very active at the LFS ?????

Arkayology
11/25/2009, 03:09 AM
He just needed to get used to the tank. He now crawls all over the tank, though mostly when lights are out. He knows when I am ready to feed my clown somehow and comes out of the rock work. Unfortunately for him, I only drop pellets in as my clown will eat them but he gets one or two sometimes. I bought a package of silversides and give him a tiny piece every three days as there still isn't much for him to eat in the tank (he doesn't touch the bristleworms at all... walked right over one, touched it and kept walking!)

Just give him a couple of days. He will be fine, they are hardy shrimp.

firebirdcrzy
11/25/2009, 10:30 AM