PDA

View Full Version : I'm stuck

TylerB24
11/15/2009, 06:27 PM
I'm new to marine tanks (had a FW one for years) and I've had a 55gal now for about 4 months. 4xT5 HO, Toms RP3 (i can't express how pleased I am with this unit as a beginner- filter, sump, skimmer all in one. It's been great).

I have probably 60 lbs of fiji live rock, crushed coral substrate, and I'm using DI water (my TDS of my well is <100 so I just use the DI cartridge to get it to 0).

Livestock- two false percs, cleaner shrimp, two emerald crabs, a number of snails, a small zoa colony, and a mushroom leather.

Everything has been going great so far- I only wish I went bigger out of the gate (100gal) to be able to handle some tangs and other cool fish.

My problem is I'm not sure where to go next- I only want a few more fish- maybe a chromis, a flame angel, and a blenny. (not sure on the angel due to the reef safe-ness). I'd like to get more corals (softies, LPS) and even an anemone.

I've had pretty good success so far, but I'm worried I don't have enough experience to get into the stonys or anemones, but I'd like to have a plan together of what is going to go in to the tank in what order. (i know, I know, I should have had this all planned out ahead of time. What can I say I got anxious to get started.)

Any suggestions?

thegrun
11/15/2009, 06:49 PM
Well if SPS coral or an anemone are in the future, adding a refugium will go a long way in helping your water quality. You don't give your tank water chemistry break down, but a fuge will be a big help in keeping your nitrates and phosphates in check.

bertoni
11/15/2009, 07:05 PM
Your setup seems okay, although I agree that a refugium might help. For the trickier corals, keeping nitrate and phosphate under control seems to help. I'd start by checking how the tank is doing in those respects. Also, a reactor or area to run carbon and a GFO can be handy.

TylerB24
11/15/2009, 09:28 PM