PDA

View Full Version : salinity

MarshaW
11/15/2009, 10:46 PM
I purchased a ro/di unit from Reef Bulk Supply and my son-in-law installed it and I finally got to fill a 5 gallon container yesterday; only took 1 hour and 5 minutes to fill the container. :o I added 2.5 cups of I.O. yesterday and this evening when I tested the salinity, it read 1.011. Do I add more I.O. to bring the salinity up? Our city water tastes nasty and I was totally surprised at how good this water is with the filtration unit.

Henry Bowman
11/15/2009, 11:01 PM
Yes, you add more salt until the reading is 1.025 or 1.026. Depending on where you keep your tank, you need to try to match the reading. I also recomend matching the temp. You ARE planning on a water change, not just adding water to make up for evaporation. Right?

MarshaW
11/15/2009, 11:12 PM
I'm new at this hobby and I'm trying to learn. It's been cycling for 2 weeks and 2 days, so should I go ahead and do a water change? The diatom is now on the rocks and sand, so I went ahead and added 2 mollies and 3 snails and all are doing good.

Flipper62
11/15/2009, 11:28 PM
I purchased a ro/di unit from Reef Bulk Supply and my son-in-law installed it and I finally got to fill a 5 gallon container yesterday; only took 1 hour and 5 minutes to fill the container. :o I added 2.5 cups of I.O. yesterday and this evening when I tested the salinity, it read 1.011. Do I add more I.O. to bring the salinity up?

Yes, as said above^^^ You want to add more salt until the salinity is around 1.025 / 1.026. Get the salinity the same as the tank.

Our city water tastes nasty and I was totally surprised at how good this water is with the filtration unit.

Its not good to drink the RO/DI water.....Its the DI that makes it not good for you. The DI unit takes out all of the TDS...this is great for the tank but not so good for your body.