PDA

View Full Version : How does one travel - on regular commercial airlines - with marine livestock?

mrwilson
11/17/2009, 01:34 PM
I travel quite a bit on business, and sometimes, if I have a little downtime, I stop by an LFS or two in whatever city I happen to be in. Sometimes I find something I'd like to buy, but I never have, just because I don't really know how to travel back home with the fish/coral/invert. What's the best way to get such a purchase through security and back home while flying regular commercial, U.S. domestic airlines? I'm sure there are others who frequent this forum who have tried this - tips, hints, protocols?

Bongo Shrimp
11/17/2009, 02:43 PM
I've never done it before but have thought about what I would do. I would overnight it back home and have someone get it all acclimated and in the tank for me.

Wolverine
11/17/2009, 09:20 PM
I've taken coral in a small cooler.

bennkrys01
11/17/2009, 09:34 PM
I don't see how you would make it past security with the water.

+1 for overnighting it back home

iamwhatiam52
11/17/2009, 09:44 PM
Security will not allow liquids in carryon bags.

What if it were in a checked piece of luggage?

Yogre
11/17/2009, 09:48 PM
I would *not* try to get through security with livestock in water. The 3 oz. liquid restriction is still in effect. You may make it through but you may not and the resulting hassle could cause you to miss your flight.

If you don't want to overnight your animals to yourself you could package them well and check them. The cargo compartments of airliners are pressurized and are heated well enough that I think a heat pack would work to keep livestock alive. On the A320 I fly the bins run around 60f, we can see the temperature in the compartment.

Bongo Shrimp
11/17/2009, 09:49 PM
Security will not allow liquids in carryon bags.

What if it were in a checked piece of luggage?