PDA

View Full Version : Help

hugecoltsfan
11/20/2009, 12:08 PM
Ok I am new to this so please bare with me. I think I have been doing to much reading about starting a reef tank. So I am now to a point of confusion and a state of delay. I have a 65 gallon aquarium and I want to convert it into a reef tank. I have a 4 bulb T-5 lighting system with 39w bulbs in it. Also I have a fluval canaster filter from when it was a freash water tank. Here in Charlotte things are pretty limited as far as salt water fish stores. We have one big one but on the other side of town ( takes almost 30 minutes to get there). I am wanting to use TBS for live rock and other things. But I have been a little discourage with the potentional bad critters. I want to start with some dry rock just because of the cost. I do plan to get live sand from TBS and some Live rock to help the dry rock. So What do I need to do next. Is my lights good enough to start and then buy another one later or buy lights now? Should I buy a sump now or wait awhile? Should I have 2 or 3 or 4 power heads? or Can I use my fluval as a power head? Ok I am going to stop here but I know I will have more questions.

Please help,
Joe

noahm
11/20/2009, 08:37 PM
Totally understand. It is good that you have been reading away. I think the idea of getting dry rock is a good idea if you are worried about bad critters. One thing you could do is is get just a small amount of TBS LR rubble-sized pieces (smaller pieces that you could easily eliminate baddies from) to seed the dry with. Just remember, it will take a little bit longer to cycle everything.