PDA

View Full Version : Distilled water

SpacedCowboy
12/10/2009, 07:04 PM
Hi all,

I'm thinking of setting up a nano tank at the office, and I'm trying to think through some of the problems ahead of time ... One of them is obviously going to be water changes - I'm a software engineer, it's not as though there's a sink in my office to run an RO/DI [grin]

So, I was thinking of using a portable water distiller (something like http://www.nutriteam.com/servlet/the-3/distiller-water-distillers-water/Detail) to create pure water and then adding in "instant ocean" (or whatever) for changes or just using straight as top-off.

Can anyone see any problems with that ?

Cheers,
Simon.

bertoni
12/10/2009, 07:41 PM
I'd take a look inside and make sure there's no metal in contact with the water. Otherwise, it should work, although buying distilled water might be easier. The power consumption will be fairly high for that device.

SpacedCowboy
12/10/2009, 07:44 PM
I'd take a look inside and make sure there's no metal in contact with the water. Otherwise, it should work, although buying distilled water might be easier. The power consumption will be fairly high for that device.

According to the description...
First water in the stainless steel boiling chamber is brought to 212 degrees farenheit(boiling point)at which time bacteria (including e-coli), parasites, and other living organisms are killed.

Next as water vapor or steam rises it leaves behind the solids including dead organisms, fluoride, iron, calcium, lime and a wholelist of others we should not be drinking. As the steam rises into the stainless condensing coils it is cooled enough to condense and drip down through a carbon charcoal filter which removes VOCS (Volatile Organic Compounds)such as chlorine that are considered a gas.

Finally your finished pure distilled water drips into the collection bottle ready for consumption

Does that sound ok ?

Simon

bertoni
12/10/2009, 09:27 PM