PDA

View Full Version : red turf algae..ugh!!

Jason7504
12/16/2009, 03:19 AM
well ive been fighting red turf algae for the past 4 months and I have heard that some turbo snails and yellow tangs will eat it. I'm going to try a turbo and see how it does. Has anybody fought it? if so, how?

muttley000
12/16/2009, 04:29 AM
What are the specs of your system? You should probably be concentrating on removing nutrients instead of adding more livestock.

muttley000
12/16/2009, 04:31 AM
What are your equipment specs? You should probably concentrate on removing nutrients instead of adding livestock,

muttley000
12/16/2009, 04:34 AM
What are your equipment specs? You should probably concentrate on removing nutrients instead of adding livestock.

muttley000
12/16/2009, 04:35 AM
I don't know why this forum always tells me to wait 15 seconds to repost and then I get 3 posts, but apologies anyway!

jasonrp104
12/16/2009, 05:21 AM
How much of the stuff do you have. I get it every once in awhile but I kind of like the look and it's never taken over. It'll be there for a month or so, then die back

weimers75
12/16/2009, 07:21 AM
Red turf algae is not dependent on nutrients. Part of the reason this stuff is so difficult to get rid of is that it LOVES clean water. I'm battling it myself...and it is by far the worst thing I've ever experienced. You can't even pull it off, the stuff is super strong. I've heard long-spine urchins will help, but have yet to try that.

I've also heard of raising the magnesium, but again this doesn't effect it. I've had my magnesium in the 1500 range for nearly two months.

DFason
12/16/2009, 07:24 AM
I've been pulling mine out by hand and cutting it with small sowing clippers.

-Dave

John Zillmer
12/16/2009, 07:27 AM
Manual removal and turbo snails are knocking it down in my 'fuge. It does not seem to respond to nutrient control measures.

poolkeeper1
12/16/2009, 07:38 AM