PDA

View Full Version : ATOs


BHHOWARD
12/19/2009, 10:21 PM
I am trying to decide for an ATO system on my 100 gallon rubbermaid stock tank. I am considering these three:

1) SpectraPure Single Tank Liquid Replenishers (http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=SP-LLC-S&Category_Code=Dosers) I purchased it when I had a smaller sump and was going to drill the acrylic. I found it does not have a way to easily mount to the stock tank. Thoughts on an good fail-proof way to make a hanger to mount without needing to drill the sump.

2) GAP Products Level-Loc ATO Unit (http://www.marinedepot.com/Gap_Products_Level_Loc_Automatic_Top_Off_(ATO)_Unit_Electric_Powered_Dosing_Pumps_Top_Off-Gap_Products-GA1111-FIDPET-4-vi.html). Looks like it would work well with my sump.

3) AutoTopoff.com Double switch ATO (sump mount) (http://autotopoff.com/products/DS1/). Looks like it would work well with my sump.

I would appreciate any information from owners of any of these products.

TIA,
Brian

FranktheTankTx
12/19/2009, 10:25 PM
Owned #3. Works great & super easy.

tkeracer619
12/19/2009, 10:27 PM
I use #3 with the low voltage option. I have taken it apart. You get your moneys worth.

connecticut cichlids
12/19/2009, 10:46 PM
I also utilize #3.....dual float option is the way to go

dwl
12/19/2009, 11:04 PM
I use basically the same thing as option 3 but I got mine from aquahub.com, I thought there's was a better system/combination, but that is just me. I am sure they are basically the same thing. You can download the instructions/manual from aquahub and take a look beforehand if you like.

DEERE G
12/20/2009, 09:14 AM
#3 here too!

moondoggy4
12/20/2009, 10:11 AM
Look into the Reef Fanatic, Marine depot sells them also.

Nereaga
12/20/2009, 10:15 AM
+1 on #3

I have been running the double float switch from them for over 2 years... Not one hiccup yet! I do clean it every couple of months to make sure the float switch is clean from salt creep and debris.

Brad

saltwater4life1
12/20/2009, 10:51 AM
Sorry for hijacking but if i understand the way the #3 one is designed the plug for the ATO goes into the outlet and the female side is where you plug in ATO pump? So you can run this ATO on a timer right?

asl4me76
12/20/2009, 12:02 PM
I know it's not on there, but I have dual float option for the JBJ ATO.

Anyways -- that's where my two cents went :D

frgrasso
12/20/2009, 01:06 PM
i was looking at the #2 ATO on a website, i like the fact that it has its own pump/solonoid attached to it.
anyone use it ?

MrSandman
12/20/2009, 10:29 PM
I also own #3 and run it with my AC3. The float was sitting in the same chamber of my sump that the kalkwasser and calcium reactor dumps into. I now realize this is a bad idea. After 18 months of use in this location without any cleaning at all whatsoever, the switch got stuck. Thankfully i had the 2nd switch that activated and stopped things from getting catastrophic. Word of advice, don't get lazy and go 18 months without cleaning it. :) Would i still recommend it? Definitely.

noboddi
12/20/2009, 11:18 PM
#3, dual float. #3 works as well as anything I have tried, and costs less. I have used several