PDA

View Full Version : Importance of keeping PH stable

CoralMonkey
12/21/2009, 11:38 PM
How important is it to keep the PH stable all day and night? Does this make a significant difference in sps growth, color, etc??? I know that keeping Alk stable is huge in a sps tank, but what about having daily PH swings from the lights etc?

klepto
12/22/2009, 02:26 AM
I'm no chemistry expert here.. but I believe that keeping alkalinity stable will in turn help keep the PH stable.
Here is a good article.
http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2007-05/rhf/index.php

serpentman
12/22/2009, 07:30 AM
Nightly pH swings are very difficult to avoid unless you have an equal amount of photosynthesizing animals/plants you can light on a reverse light cycle. Although you can tweak the alk here and there, dosing a ton at night to keep levels raised will only result in higher levels during the day. IMO, worry more about keeping alk constant and let the pH do its thing.

I have not found nightly drops to cause any issues in my system. In the summer and winter my tank varies by 8.1 during the day and 7.8 at night, spring and fall when the house is open that jumps to 8.3 during the day and 8.1 at night.

Flanders
12/22/2009, 07:56 AM
a refugium on a reverse-light cycle is the way to go.

Orr2003
12/22/2009, 08:21 AM
nightly ph swings are very difficult to avoid unless you have an equal amount of photosynthesizing animals/plants you can light on a reverse light cycle. Although you can tweak the alk here and there, dosing a ton at night to keep levels raised will only result in higher levels during the day. imo, worry more about keeping alk constant and let the ph do its thing.
i have not found nightly drops to cause any issues in my system. In the summer and winter my tank varies by 8.1 during the day and 7.8 at night, spring and fall when the house is open that jumps to 8.3 during the day and 8.1 at night.

+1

CoralMonkey
12/22/2009, 05:15 PM