PDA

View Full Version : Tank advice: glass/acrylic...big and lost

ScooterGuitar
12/23/2009, 10:41 PM
I'll try to keep this short, but sure could use some more insightful thoughts please.
I've been doing marine tanks for 20 years, I've had it all it seems.
About 6 years ago we had a 75, 125, and 140.
The 140 drilled in the center of the backside. Just before the cycle was done, poof! It spiderwebbed and exploded! It took a few months to get the house back in shape and over $30k in damages alone! HUGE nightmare to say the least.
Several months down the road the 125's glass sump srpung a slight leak maybe a few gallons at most when I caught it. Yep, bye bye 125:sad2:
So the past few years my 75 has been going, but I let it go. Through lots of effort it is looking better than ever, great actually.

We've been itching (me mainly) for a bigger tank and my wife is fine with it.
I swore off of buying another glass tank, but have been rethinking that lately. I've heard horror stories of acrylic seams coming apart, etc. So it seems nonthing is fail proof. But whatever we end up with (if we do), if we have another bad tank incident, well...bye bye me!

I came across a beautiful and priced right used large tank. I believe it is a Marineland. Store says it is a 150, but I think it is closer to 200g. Overflow in the center, which I'd love to build up rock pillars around it, etc. They used it as their show tank and made room for other animals now. About 2 years old.

What do I do? The ideal tank I've been searching for is the 120'ish acrylic 48x24x18. Figured it would be a good compromise, but I've not found one used. Yes, need to go used.
This bigger tank is speaking to me, but not sure if it is the cartoon angel or devil on either shoulder:bigeyes:

Yours Truly,
Lost in Oblivion

Playa-1
12/23/2009, 10:58 PM
I'd go with the Marineland tank if it were me.

dosequis4
12/23/2009, 10:59 PM